Langinkoski Imperial Fishing Lodge
A man sitting on a fishing rock, the smell of salmon soup and the constant roar of the rapids. It is the end of the 19th century, and the man on the rock is Tsar Alexander III, the Emperor of Russia, and the soup has been prepared by his wife, the Empress. In accordance with the wishes of the Emperor, an imperial fishing lodge was built at Langinkoski in 1889, which the imperial family used to visit annually. Today, the rapids are popular among fly fishermen and visitors can familiarise themselves with imperial history in the fishing lodge.
Suitability: An interesting cultural and nature destination for the whole family. In the yard of the museum, parking for the disabled is available, and the Langinkoski café is accessible for wheelchairs. There are approximately 1 km of hiking trails suitable for the disabled in Langinkoski, providing them with access to the fishing lodge and the arboretum if assisted.
The destination is managed by Metsähallitus, Parks & Wildlife Finland, Coastal and Metropolitan area.
The Langinkoski Imperial Fishing Lodge museum is managed by The Finnish Heritage Agency (www.kansallismuseo.fi).